Favourite Romantic Love Songs for Valentine’s Day

Favourite Romantic Love Songs for Valentine’s Day

Music is a rare gift of nature to the human beings. It is a medium of conversation with God and when we meet a human being in love – this means we are certainly in touch with God. The ultimate act of loving is giving one’s life for the other. Music is the very presence of God in the form of a human being for God is love. For lovers music is one of the most fascinating ways to express their love. And what can be a better gift to lovers than love songs which have the power to take the pain away, to help you through each day and last but not the least- to tell your beloved that you are their for him/her forever! Valentines Day is the perfect occasion to express your love and to show how much you care. These everlasting love songs will help you to say what you could not do before. So go ahead and have a rollicking Valentines Day.

Valentine’s Day is fast approaching; the day where you need to show your partner how much you love and care for them. Sometimes it is hard to get those feelings into words, but music can let you do that. Here is a list of everyone’s favourite romantic songs – perfect for playing to your loved one this Valentine’s Day. 

1) Bryan Adams – (Everything I Do) I Do It For You

This is a power ballad which featured on the soundtrack of Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves. Probably known as one of the most romantic songs of all time, and seen as a classic  by so many music lovers. When released, the song broke sales records in both the UK and USA, and reached number one all across Europe – those millions of people can’t be wrong.

2) Enrique Iglesias – Hero

This song is about the I’d-do-anything-for-you-type-love that every girl dreams about. A song perfect for a guy to play to a girl he wants to prove his love and dedication too. This song made me fall in love with Enrique when I was at school, and the music video can still make me cry.

3) Elton John – Your Song

What a compliment – having a song written about you… And this song is beautiful and obviously comes straight from the heart. I really like Ellie Goulding’s version, but seriously – nothing can beat the original.

4) Bruno Mars – Just The Way You Are

Bruno Mars is set for big things. I’ve loved what he has done so far, especially this tune. Love songs seem to come so natural to him and his piano.

 

5) Ron Pope – A Drop In The Ocean

If you haven’t heard of Ron Pope, you need to seriously check him out.He is a singer-songwriter I found on myspace a few years ago and he has been one of my favourite artists ever since. I love simple acoustic music – voice with a guitar or piano, and he does it like no other. I’m not sure whether he is even signed, but I know he will be soon!

A Drop In The Ocean is romantic and touching – I know it will make you like him like I do. If you are only going to listen to one song on this hub, make sure this is it.

6) Dixie Chicks – Cowboy, Take Me Away

The perfect Valentine’s Day song for any cowgirl. ‘cowboy take me away, fly this girl as high as you can, into the wild blue’.

7) Keith Whitley/Allison Krauss – When You Say Nothing At All

There have been so many versions of this songs, and whilst I have nothing against dear old Ronan, I think this is the best. Whitley released the original version of this song in 1988 and experienced great success with it, and Allison Krauss released her version in 1995. Whilst Krauss’ version was in the charts, a duet was concoted of the two versions. I believe this duet has never been available comercially, but I think it is a gorgeous version as the song works so well when sung by two people.

8) Boys II Men – I’ll Make Love To You

A perfect slow dance song. Can’t beat 90’s RnB for that!

9) Faithfully (Journey)
They say that the road
Ain’t no place to start a family
Right down the line it’s been you and me

And loving a music man
Ain’t always what it’s supposed to be
I’m forever yours, faithfully

Popularized by Glee, this Journey ballad (I had to include at least one ballad on this list–it’s the law) is hauntingly sweet in its promise.  “Faithfully,” like “Love Song” can be interpreted to be not quite as romantic as I’m passing it off to be (does anyone else sense that this is a musical version of “sorry I cheated on you” flowers?).  In spite of that, I think that it’s sweet and a little mournful.

The duet-ized Glee version is cute, but I’ve always preferred originals over covers (sole exception: Here Comes the Sun by Belle and Sebastian.  And I love the original just as much, so it’s not really the same).

10) Always (Bon Jovi)

I’ll be there till the stars don’t shine
‘Til the heavens burst
And the words don’t rhyme
And I know when I die,
You’ll be on my mind
And I’ll love you, always

I couldn’t help it.  I had to include Bon Jovi.  And when I examined all the Bon Jovi songs on my computer, only one song made sense.  “Always” isn’t the kind of song couples dance to at their wedding, but it’s still a love song (and a good one at that).  The longing in the lyrics is tangible.  Is it an example of silly 80s music? Yes.  Does that stop it from being a classic? Not even close.

11) Alicia Keys – No One

In this soulful song, Alicia belts out her emotions so we don’t have to.

12) U2 – With or Without You

After all these years, Bono still melts our hearts. This 1987 classic addresses the question: What the hell would I do without you? That never gets old.

13) The Pretenders- I’ll stand by you

“Nothing you confess could make me love you less.” –brilliant, lovely, and sums up true love.

14) Ronan Keating- If Tomorrow Never Comes

Nowadays, certain singers are just making songs for “popularity” only. Yes, their songs might be nice for the 3rd and 4th times tou hear. Although when you hear more than that, you will find it boring. Nevertheless, kind of this song, you listen many many times, you will find it meaningful… The lyrics come from heart, true story and deep measing. Love this song, I play it before I fall asleep.

15) Elvis Costello – She

The theme song, my best moment! Should I say more… I love this song!!!

 

Leave a Reply

